USA will face Ghana, Netherlands and Japan at the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2022 in Costa Rica

CHICAGO (May 5, 2022) – The United States Women’s National Under-20 Team will face Ghana, the Netherlands and Japan in Group D at the upcoming FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2022, which will take place from August 10 to 28 in Costa Rica. The final draw for the competition took place today at the National Theater in San José, Costa Rica.

The United States open the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup on Thursday August 11 against Ghana, play the Netherlands on Sunday August 14 and complete the group stage against Japan on Wednesday August 17. and third group match at Estadio Alejandro Morera Soto in Alajuela, Costa Rica and his second group match at Estadio Nacional in San José.

“We’re looking forward to the challenge of a World Cup,” said US U-20 WYNT head coach Tracey Kevins. “I am delighted with our draw and the chance to play against some of the best teams in the world. playing the defending champions in Japan, a rising European power in the Netherlands and a still dangerous African team in Ghana is an opportunity incredible for our players. We have an expectation of excellence in our Women’s National Team program and we will be preparing every day until August 11 to give our best possible performance in Costa Rica.”





Thursday August 11

United States vs. Ghana

Estadio Alejandro Morera Soto; Alajuela, Costa Rica

Sunday August 14

United States vs Netherlands

National Stadium; San Jose, Costa Rica

Wednesday August 17

USA vs Japan

Estadio Alejandro Morera Soto; Alajuela, Costa Rica

The United States qualified for the World Cup by winning their record seventh Concacaf Women’s U-20 Championship in dominant fashion in March, posting seven straight wins and a 49-0 goal differential. The United States is one of four nations to have participated in all 10 editions of the U-20 Women’s World Cup, winning the tournament in 2002, 2008 and 2012, which is tied for the most world championships at this age level.

The FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2022 features 16 countries divided into four groups of four teams. The top two from each group will advance to the quarter-finals on Saturday August 20 and Sunday August 21. The semi-finals will take place on Thursday August 25, while the World Cup final will take place on Sunday August 28. .

group A

Group B

Group C

Group D

Costa Rica









New Zealand





Republic of Korea


If the United States qualified for the quarter-finals, they would face a team from Group C.

The United States were drawn from Pot 2 which also included Nigeria, Spain and Mexico. Teams have been seeded into pots based on a ranking determined by success at the last five FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cups, with results from more recent tournaments weighted more heavily, as well as performance in the Confederation qualifying tournaments.

Costa Rica 2022 is the 10th overall world championship for this age group. The first two were held as the FIFA U-19 Women’s World Championship before the competition was moved to the U-20 level for the 2006 tournament and it assumed its current name in 2008. A number of Current USWNT players have used the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup as a stepping stone to the senior squad. From the US U-20 WWC 2018 team, Emily Fox, Naomi Girma, Jaelin Howell, Ashley Sanchez and Sophia Smith made their USWNT debuts.

Japan are a historic powerhouse at young women’s level and are the only country to have won the FIFA Women’s World Cup at senior, U-20 and U-17 levels. Japan are the defending champions of the U-20 Women’s World Cup and this will be the third consecutive tournament in which the United States and Japan will meet. The United States suffered 1-0 defeats in the 2018 group stage and the 2016 third place match.

The Netherlands are making just their second U-20 WWC appearance after debuting in the 2018 competition.

Ghana have faced the United States in three of their last five U-20 Women’s World Cup appearances, with the United States holding a 1-0-2 record. U-20 WYNT’s lone win, a 4-0 victory, kicked off the United States’ run for the world championship at Japan 2012, while a 1-1 group stage draw in Papua New Guinea 2016 helped the United States narrowly qualify for the quarter-finals.

Comments are closed.